Homeschool Corral
Homeschool requirements · Florida

Homeschooling in Florida: what the state requires

The rules for homeschooling in Florida, in plain English, from the state’s own sources.

Notice to the stateRequiredWithin 30 days of establishing the home education program
Days or hoursNone stated
TestingRequired
Required subjects0 stated

Checked October 1, 2026 against official Florida sources. State page: Florida Department of Education — Home Education. Compulsory school age: 6 (by February 1 of the school year) to 16; a 16-year-old may leave only by filing a formal declaration of intent to terminate enrollment.

Florida gives families more than one way to homeschool legally. Pick the one that fits you:

Home education program (F.S. 1002.41)

Parent registers a home education program with the county school superintendent, keeps a portfolio, and files an annual educational evaluation.

For every child

Notice or registrationRequired. Within 30 days of establishing the home education program — Written notice of intent to the district school superintendent of the county of residence, with each child's full legal name, address and birthdate; the superintendent must register the program on receipt. A written notice of termination, with the annual evaluation, is filed within 30 days of ending the program.
Required subjects— No required subjects; FLDOE says the statute 'does not prescribe a curriculum or course of study for home education programs.'
DaysNo minimum days in statute.
HoursFLDOE: 'There are no specific hourly requirements for students in a home education program.'
Testing or evaluationRequired every year. Annual educational evaluation filed with the district superintendent's office, by one of: (1) a Florida-certified teacher reviewing the portfolio and discussing it with the student; (2) a nationally normed achievement test administered by a certified teacher; (3) a state student assessment administered by a certified teacher; (4) evaluation by a licensed psychologist or similar professional; (5) any other valid tool mutually agreed by superintendent and parent. Student must show educational progress 'commensurate with her or his ability.' FLDOE: due one year from the date of the letter of intent.
RecordsRequired. Portfolio: a log of educational activities made contemporaneously with instruction, including titles of reading materials, plus samples of writings, worksheets, workbooks or creative materials. Preserve for 2 years; available for inspection by the superintendent on 15 days' written notice.
TeacherNo parent qualification. Evaluators must hold a valid regular Florida teaching certificate (or be a licensed psychologist, etc.).
OtherProgram is not a school district program and is registered only for compulsory attendance. Students may take part in dual enrollment and interscholastic extracurricular activities; immunization rules apply to those who participate in extracurriculars.

By grade

No rule in this option changes with the grade; testing applies every year.

High school and graduation

No statutory graduation requirements for home education. FLDOE: no public school diploma is issued; a parent-signed affidavit of completion (notarized letter) is regularly accepted by state colleges and universities.

Official sources:

Enrollment in a private school (F.S. 1002.42)

Child is enrolled in a private school (which may supervise home-based instruction); the private school, not the district, handles records.

For every child

Notice or registrationNot required. No notice from the parent to the district. The private school must file an annual database survey with the Department of Education.
Required subjects— Not specified; the state may not control private school curricula (F.S. 1003.21).
DaysNot specified in F.S. 1002.42.
HoursNot specified in F.S. 1002.42.
Testing or evaluationNot required. No state-mandated assessment in F.S. 1002.42.
RecordsRequired. Private school staff must keep attendance records per F.S. 1003.23(2).
TeacherNot specified for parents.
OtherPrivate schools must require a certificate of immunization and a school-entry health examination.

By grade

No rule in this option changes with the grade.

High school and graduation

No graduation requirements in F.S. 1002.42; the private school sets requirements and issues the diploma.

Official sources:

Not confirmed on an official state page yet: Whether a private school must report its students' names to the district was not confirmed; the summarized statute text indicates no such reporting duty.

Private tutoring program (F.S. 1002.43)

Instruction by a Florida-certified teacher (can be a parent who holds certification) who meets attendance-time and reporting rules.

For every child

Notice or registrationNot required. No separate notice; tutor makes all reports required by the state and district school board, including regular attendance reports.
Required subjects— Tutor must be certified for the subjects or grades taught.
Days180 days — Students must be in attendance for the minimum term in F.S. 1011.60(2): '180 actual teaching days or the equivalent on an hourly basis as specified by rules of the State Board of Education.'
HoursHourly equivalent of 180 days set by State Board rule (not checked).
Testing or evaluationNot required. None specified in F.S. 1002.43.
RecordsRequired. Keeps all records and makes all reports required by the state and district school board; regular attendance reports.
TeacherMust hold a valid Florida certificate to teach the subjects or grades in which instruction is given.

By grade

Subjects by grade: Tutor must be certified for the subjects or grades taught.

High school and graduation

No graduation provisions in F.S. 1002.43.

Official sources:

Not confirmed on an official state page yet: Hourly equivalent of the 180-day term (State Board rule) not checked.

High school: the public-school diploma as a guide

Optional for homeschools in most states, but the credit plan most colleges and employers recognize, and a sound default for a homeschool transcript. Shown in the subject areas this site uses.

English4.0
Mathematics4.0
Science3.0
Social Studies
Social Studies 3; Personal Financial Literacy 0.5
3.5
Physical Education & Health1.0
Electives
Fine or performing arts, speech and debate, or career and technical education 1; Electives 7.5
8.5
Total24.0

Standard diploma for students entering grade 9 in 2023-24 or later (earlier cohorts: 8 elective credits, no financial literacy). Math includes Algebra I and Geometry; science includes Biology I (2 with lab); social studies = U.S. History 1, World History 1, Economics 0.5, U.S. Government 0.5. 2.0 GPA; pass Grade 10 ELA and Algebra I EOC assessments (or concordant scores). An 18-credit CTE pathway also exists.

Source: Florida Statutes §1003.4282

After graduation: what to plan for

Suggestions from Homeschool Corral, not state rules. Most families keep the college path open through 10th grade, then narrow.

College-bound
  • 4 English, 4 math (through Algebra II, pre-calculus if they can), 3–4 science with 2 labs, 3–4 social studies, 2–3 years of one foreign language, 1 fine arts
  • A one-paragraph description for every high-school course; the parent signs the transcript and diploma
  • PSAT in 10th and 11th; SAT or ACT by spring of 11th; dual credit, AP or CLEP where it fits
  • A log of activities, service and work from 9th grade; two adults who can recommend them
  • A Scholarship Finder profile by 11th grade; FAFSA when it opens in the fall of 12th
Trade or apprenticeship
  • A diploma and transcript with 4 English, 3 math, 3 science, 3 social studies; applied math every year
  • Dual-credit career and technical courses in 11th–12th; OSHA 10 and first aid/CPR; a driver’s license
  • Real projects and a part-time job logged as credits, with references; visit the union hall about pre-apprenticeships in 11th
Military
  • A parent-issued diploma and full transcript, signed and dated; recruiters ask for both
  • Strong reading and arithmetic for the entrance test; a practice ASVAB in 11th
  • Physical fitness as a logged course; service and leadership; for an academy or ROTC, the college list plus the SAT/ACT early
Work or a family business
  • The diploma and transcript anyway; personal finance and business basics as credits
  • Work experience logged with hours and a reference from 10th grade; typing, spreadsheets, a clear email
  • Keep the college path open: a foreign language and Algebra II cost little now

My Homeschool turns these into a checklist for each child, with the credits recorded in Transcripts counted against the plan.

Home education statute history line runs through 2018; no recent changes found on the 2026 statute page.

Keep up with these rules without a binder. Homeschool Transcripts tracks Florida’s requirements for each child (notices, days and hours, subjects, testing), logs attendance, and prints transcripts, report cards and diplomas. My Homeschool turns the rules into a checklist on your home base, beside your plan for the year. Both are free.

This is a plain-English summary of the state’s official sources, checked on the date shown. It is not legal advice, and laws change. Read the linked official pages, and check with the state or your local school district if anything is unclear.

Other states: Alabama · Alaska · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Colorado · Connecticut · Delaware · District of Columbia · Georgia · Hawaii · Idaho · Illinois · Indiana · Iowa · Kansas · Kentucky · Louisiana · Maine · Maryland · Massachusetts · Michigan · Minnesota · Mississippi · Missouri · Montana · Nebraska · Nevada · New Hampshire · New Jersey · New Mexico · New York · North Carolina · North Dakota · Ohio · Oklahoma · Oregon · Pennsylvania · Rhode Island · South Carolina · South Dakota · Tennessee · Texas · Utah · Vermont · Virginia · Washington · West Virginia · Wisconsin · Wyoming