Homeschool Corral
Homeschool requirements · New Hampshire

Homeschooling in New Hampshire: what the state requires

Parents may educate their own children at home; a child receiving home education under RSA 193-A is exempt from compulsory public school attendance. Since July 1, 2026 a declaration is optional except on withdrawal from public school or to access public school programs, and the former subject, portfolio and evaluation rules are gone.

Notice to the stateNot required
Days or hoursNone stated
TestingNot required
Required subjects0 stated

Checked October 1, 2026 against official New Hampshire sources. State page: New Hampshire Department of Education — Home Education. Compulsory school age: 6 to 18 (at least 6 and under 18).

Home education (RSA 193-A, as amended by the Home Education Freedom Act, HB 1268, effective July 1, 2026)

Parents may educate their own children at home; a child receiving home education under RSA 193-A is exempt from compulsory public school attendance. Since July 1, 2026 a declaration is optional except on withdrawal from public school or to access public school programs, and the former subject, portfolio and evaluation rules are gone.

For every child

Notice or registrationNot required. An optional declaration of home education (child's name, date of birth, current address; parent signature; states the student is home educated and meets compulsory attendance requirements) is required only upon withdrawal from a public school or to obtain access to public school programs under RSA 193:1-c. The law does not specify a recipient or deadline. Information submitted is confidential. Before July 1, 2026, notice within 5 business days of starting was required.
Required subjects— HB 1268 replaced RSA 193-A:4, which formerly required science, mathematics, language, government, history, health, reading, writing, spelling, history of the NH and US constitutions, and art and music appreciation. No subjects are mandated under the new text.
DaysNo minimum days; parents may set a flexible schedule.
HoursNo minimum hours.
Testing or evaluationNot required. RSA 193-A:6 (annual evaluation) repealed effective July 1, 2026.
RecordsRSA 193-A:6 (portfolio kept 2 years) repealed effective July 1, 2026. Officials may not adopt or enforce policies governing home educated students except for access to public school courses/programs (RSA 193:1-c).
TeacherNo parent qualification requirement.
OtherOfficials may not adopt or enforce policies governing home educated students, except for access to public school courses and programs.

By grade

No rule in this option changes with the grade.

High school and graduation

Parent may sign an optional certificate of completion (child's name and date of birth, parents' names, completion date, parent signature). If submitted to the Commissioner of Education, the Commissioner issues a certificate of completion within 30 days (RSA 193-A:5).

Official sources:

Not confirmed on an official state page yet: The online RSA 193-A page still shows pre-2026 text; current law taken from the HB 1268 chaptered text (approved July 10, 2026, effective July 1, 2026). The NH DOE 'Home Education Freedom Act FAQ' PDF returned 403 and could not be read. Recipient and deadline for the declaration on withdrawal are not stated in the bill. A specific NH DOE home education page URL was not confirmed.

High school: the public-school diploma as a guide

Optional for homeschools in most states, but the credit plan most colleges and employers recognize, and a sound default for a homeschool transcript. Shown in the subject areas this site uses.

English4.0
Mathematics3.0
Science
Physical sciences 1; Biological sciences 1
2.0
Social Studies
US and NH history 1; US and NH government/civics 0.5; Economics, including personal finance 0.5; World history, global studies, geography 0.5
2.5
Fine Arts
Arts education 0.5
0.5
Physical Education & Health
Health education 0.5; Physical education 1
1.5
Technology
Digital literacy 0.5
0.5
Electives
Open electives 6
6.0
Total20.0

Ed 306.27(m), Table 306-2: minimum 20 credits unless the local school board sets more. Mathematics includes algebra.

Source: NH DOE — Ed 306.27 Standard Regulation

After graduation: what to plan for

Suggestions from Homeschool Corral, not state rules. Most families keep the college path open through 10th grade, then narrow.

College-bound
  • 4 English, 4 math (through Algebra II, pre-calculus if they can), 3–4 science with 2 labs, 3–4 social studies, 2–3 years of one foreign language, 1 fine arts
  • A one-paragraph description for every high-school course; the parent signs the transcript and diploma
  • PSAT in 10th and 11th; SAT or ACT by spring of 11th; dual credit, AP or CLEP where it fits
  • A log of activities, service and work from 9th grade; two adults who can recommend them
  • A Scholarship Finder profile by 11th grade; FAFSA when it opens in the fall of 12th
Trade or apprenticeship
  • A diploma and transcript with 4 English, 3 math, 3 science, 3 social studies; applied math every year
  • Dual-credit career and technical courses in 11th–12th; OSHA 10 and first aid/CPR; a driver’s license
  • Real projects and a part-time job logged as credits, with references; visit the union hall about pre-apprenticeships in 11th
Military
  • A parent-issued diploma and full transcript, signed and dated; recruiters ask for both
  • Strong reading and arithmetic for the entrance test; a practice ASVAB in 11th
  • Physical fitness as a logged course; service and leadership; for an academy or ROTC, the college list plus the SAT/ACT early
Work or a family business
  • The diploma and transcript anyway; personal finance and business basics as credits
  • Work experience logged with hours and a reference from 10th grade; typing, spreadsheets, a clear email
  • Keep the college path open: a foreign language and Algebra II cost little now

My Homeschool turns these into a checklist for each child, with the credits recorded in Transcripts counted against the plan.

Major 2026 change: HB 1268 (Home Education Freedom Act; 2026 Laws Chapter 297, approved July 10, 2026; home education sections stated effective July 1, 2026) made the declaration optional and repealed RSA 193-A:6 records/evaluation. Ed 306 was re-adopted in late 2024; the credit table is from the NDE copy of Ed 306.27 (amendment eff. 6-22) and should be rechecked against the current Ed 306.

Keep up with these rules without a binder. Homeschool Transcripts tracks New Hampshire’s requirements for each child (notices, days and hours, subjects, testing), logs attendance, and prints transcripts, report cards and diplomas. My Homeschool turns the rules into a checklist on your home base, beside your plan for the year. Both are free.

This is a plain-English summary of the state’s official sources, checked on the date shown. It is not legal advice, and laws change. Read the linked official pages, and check with the state or your local school district if anything is unclear.

Other states: Alabama · Alaska · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Colorado · Connecticut · Delaware · District of Columbia · Florida · Georgia · Hawaii · Idaho · Illinois · Indiana · Iowa · Kansas · Kentucky · Louisiana · Maine · Maryland · Massachusetts · Michigan · Minnesota · Mississippi · Missouri · Montana · Nebraska · Nevada · New Jersey · New Mexico · New York · North Carolina · North Dakota · Ohio · Oklahoma · Oregon · Pennsylvania · Rhode Island · South Carolina · South Dakota · Tennessee · Texas · Utah · Vermont · Virginia · Washington · West Virginia · Wisconsin · Wyoming